Part 1 – The Mission House Grounds
Also see: Part 2
The green Waioli Huiia Church in Hanalei is one of the town’s most cherished landmarks. What most tourists fail to see is the parsonage for the church, the Waioli Mission House, hidden behind the church in a grove of trees. The Mission House was built by the first permanent pastor Reverend William Alexander who arrived in 1834 along with his wife Mary Ann McKinney Alexander. Today the house is a museum (Waioli Mission House Museum) that provides a fascinating look back into the times of the early missionaries.
Construction on the two-story, wood-framed house began in 1835. Mr. Alexander built the chimney to the Mission House with his own hands, which was completed in 1837. Missionaries Abner and Lucy Wilcox arrived in 1846, working for 20 years at the adjacent Waioli Mission School. The present Waioli Church building was built from donations by the three sons of Abner Wilcox – Albert, George and Sam.
Guided tours are available on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays from 9AM to 3PM. The suggested donation for the tour is $10 per person or $5 for children 5-12 years old.
The house is best reached from Old School House Road next to the Hanalei Elementary School.
Location at Google Maps
Mission House Photos
The Waioli Mission House is behind a grove of trees and a white picket fence on the Waioli Huiia Church property.
Ideally situated in one of the most scenic spots in the Hanalei Valley, the Waioli Mission House has wondrous views of the surrounding area.
Nene birds enjoy the green property.
On the path between the mission house and the church.